## REGENT CANDIDATE ADVISORY COUNCIL

600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 | Phone: (651) 296-9002 | www.rcac.mn.gov

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Sally Olson, RCAC Staff, sally.olson@lcc.mn.gov

## 18 applicants selected to interview for University of Minnesota Board of Regents

(St. Paul, MN, December 13, 2022) Eighteen candidates for four vacancies on the University of Minnesota Board of Regents were selected to be interviewed by the Regent Candidate Advisory Council (RCAC) at their meeting on December 9, 2022. The RCAC announced the vacancies in October and received a total of 29 applications.

Four of the twelve seats on Board of Regents are open for appointment every two years, each representing a six-year term. The positions to be filled in 2023 include one each from Minnesota's second, third and eighth congressional districts as well as one statewide at-large seat.

The RCAC is a 24-member advisory council established by the Minnesota State Legislature to recruit, screen, and recommend regent candidates for election by the Legislature. The interviews in this round will be held January 9 - 13, 2023, and are open to the public. The RCAC must recommend to a Joint Legislative Committee between two and four individuals for each open position on the Board. The Joint Committee selects one candidate for each open position and submits this slate of candidates for consideration by the full Legislature sitting in Joint Convention. Under the Minnesota Constitution, the Joint Convention elects Regents to the Board.

Following are the names of the candidates to be interviewed by the RCAC for each open regent seat:

Second District:

Joe Atkins (Inver Grove Heights) Cheryl Bemel (Mendota Heights) Robyn Gulley (West St. Paul) Richard Painter (Mendota Heights)

Third District:

William Humphries (Chanhassen)
Bill Luther (Minnetonka)
Steven Sanderson (Plymouth)
Mary Turner (Plymouth)
Penny Wheeler (Orono)

Eighth District:
Susan Cohen (White Bear Lake)
Tadd Johnson (Duluth)

Statewide At-Large:
Val Aarsvold (Altura)
Mike Burns (St. Paul)
Arnoldo Curiel (Oakdale)
Michael Hsu (Blaine)
Kendall Powell (Golden Valley)
Rebecca Siekmeier (Grant)
Flora Yang (Eden Prairie)